2022 Aspire North REALTORS Endorsed Candidates

Over the past several months, Aspire North REALTORS members have connected with candidates running for Federal, State and targeted Local races to discuss issues impacting the real estate industry as part of the candidate endorsement process. Below are the endorsements that have been established:
District Party U.S. House of Representatives
1 R Jack Bergman
District Party Michigan Senate
32 R Jon C. Bumstead
36 R Michele Hoitenga
37 R John N. Damoose
District Party Michigan House of Representatives
103 R Jack O'Malley
104 R John Roth
105 R Ken Borton


Municipality Village Trustee
Village of Elk Rapids Kellie Sergent
Michigan Supreme Court Justice
Richard Bernstein
Brian Zahra


State Proposal 1


Below you can view additional information on November 8th targeted elections (federal and statewide targeted elections determined by Michigan REALTORS and local targeted elections determined by the Aspire North Public Policy Committee) across the 6 county region. Candidates are listed below as they will appear on your ballot. Aspire North REALTORS targeted elections include links to candidate questionnaires completed by candidates for the candidate interview process.  
Unsure if you are registered and ready to vote for REALTOR Champions in November? Visit mi.gov/vote to check your voter registration status, find you polling location, and much more! For questions or more information contact connor@aspirenorthrealtors.com

2022 Targeted General Election Races

Targeted City, Township and Village Races

Targeted (as determined by the Aspire North Public Policy Committee) Antrim County Village General Election Races.

Elk Rapids Village Council

  • Village President
    • James D. Janisse
    • Karen Simpson 
  • Trustee
    • Brandon Cox
    • Teresa Fosdick
    • Barbara S. Mullaly
    • Kellie Sergent - Endorsed by Aspire North REALTORS

Targeted County-wide Races

Targeted (as determined by the Aspire North Public Policy Committee) County-wide Races. Candidate Questionnaires on Real Estate related issues are included below if they were completed by the candidates. 

Grand Traverse County Commission General Election Races by District.

1st District (Blair Township Precinct 1 and 4; Green Lake Precinct 1, 2 and 3)

  • Brian Paul McAllister (Republican)
    • No Candidate Questionnaire Completed


2nd District (Garfield Township Precinct 4, 6 and 7; Traverse City Precinct 7)


3rd District (Garfield Township Prec. 2, Traverse City Prec. 1, 2, & 10) 


4th District (Blair Township Precinct 3; Garfield Township Precinct 1, Precinct 3, and Precinct 5)

  • David Fashbaugh (Democrat)
    • No Candidate Questionnaire Completed
  • Brad Jewett (Republican)
    • No Candidate Questionnaire Completed


5th District (Acme Township Precinct 1; East Bay Township Precinct 1, Precinct 4, & Precinct 5)

  • Bruce Moore (Democrat)
    • No Candidate Questionnaire Completed
  • Robert D. Hentschel (Republican)
    • No Candidate Questionnaire Completed


6th District (Acme Prec. 2; East Bay Township Prec. 2 and 3; Fife Lake Township Prec. 1, Union Township, Whitewater Township)

  • Amanda Scott (Democrat)
    • No Candidate Questionnaire Completed
  • Darryl V. Nelson (Republican)
    • No Candidate Questionnaire Completed


7th District (Peninsula Township Prec. 1 and 2; Traverse City Prec. 8 and 9)

8th District (Blair Prec. 2, Grant Township, Mayfield Township, Paradise Township Prec. 1 & 2)

  • Scott Sieffert (Republican)
    • No Candidate Questionnaire Completed

9th District (Long Lake Precinct 1, 2 and 3)

  • Pamela Harris Kaiser (Democrat)
    • Candidate Questionnaire 
  • Penny Morris (Republican)
    • No Candidate Questionnaire Completed

Michigan State Senate Races Across Our Association

State Senate District 32 (Benzie, Manistee, Mason, Muskegon, Oceana County)

  • Terry J. Sabo (Democrat)
  • Jon C. Bumstead (Republican)- Endorsed by Michigan REALTORS

State Senate District 36 (Alcona, Alpena, Arenac, Crawford, Iosco, Isle, Kalkaska, Manistee, Missaukee, Montmorency, Ogemaw, Oscoda, Otsego, Presque, Roscommon, and Wexford County)

  • Joel Sheltrown (Democrat)
  • Michele Hoitenga (Republican) - Endorsed by Michigan REALTORS            

State Senate District 37 (Antrim, Charlevoix, Cheboygan, Chippewa, Emmet, Leelanau, Mackinac, Grand Traverse County)

  • Barbara Conley (Democrat)
  • John N. Damoose (Republican) - Endorsed by Michigan REALTORS
  • Zachary Dean (Libertarian)     
Michigan State House Races

State House District 101 (Clare, Lake, Mecosta, Osceola, and Wexford County)

  • Amanda Siggins (Democrat)
  • Joseph Fox (Republican)

State House District 103 (Benzie, Grand Traverse, and Leelanau County)

  • Betsy Coffia (Democrat)
  • Jack O'Malley (Republican) - Endorsed by Michigan REALTORS

State House District 104 (Antrim, Benzie, Grand Traverse, Kalkaska, Manistee, and Wexford County)

  • Cathy Albro (Democrat)
  • John Roth (Republican) - Endorsed by Michigan REALTORS

State House District 105 (Antrim, Crawford, Kalkaska, Missaukee, Oscoda, Otsego, Roscommon County)

  • Adam J. Wojdan (Democrat)
  • Ken Borton (Republican) - Endorsed by Michigan REALTORS